Scope and Overview

The 5th International Workshop on Localized Algorithms and Protocols for Wireless Sensor Networks (LOCALGOS 2011) aims to cover comprehensively the algorithmic issues in the hot area of ad hoc and sensor networking.

This workshop concentrates on such network layer problems as data communication (routing, QoS-routing, geocasting, multicasting, broadcasting, etc.) and topology control (neighbor discovery, power adjustment, neighbor elimination, etc.). The main paradigm shift is to apply localized (or greedy) schemes as opposed to existing protocols requiring global information. Localized algorithms are distributed approaches where simple local node behavior achieves a desired global objective. Localized protocols provide scalable solutions, that is, solutions for wireless networks with an arbitrary number of nodes. The objective of the workshop is to present state of the art research results on various aspects of localized algorithms and protocols in this rapidly growing area of ad hoc and sensor networks.

Topics of Interest

The objective of the workshop is to present state of the art research results on data communication and topology control in rapidly growing area of ad hoc and sensor networks, with emphasizes on localized techniques. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


Paper submission:

Papers are solicited in the IEEE proceedings format with up to six (6) pages. Papers in PDF format must be submitted via Easy Chair by using the following URL: All submissions must be original prior unpublished work and not under review elsewhere. All papers will be reviewed and selected based on their originality, merit, and relevance to the workshop. Accepted and presented papers will appear in the DCOSS proceedings and the IEEE Digital Library. Please email to TPC chairs if you have any questions.


Camera Ready Paper Submission:

To be updated soon.

Steering Committee:

Ivan Stojmenovic, University of Ottawa, Canada

Program Co-Chairs

Song Guo, University of Aizu, Japan
Symeon Papavassiliou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Publicity Chair

Jiming Chen, Zheijiang University, China
Xu Li, INRIA Lille, France

Program Committee

To be updated soon.

Registration and Visa

To be updated soon.